Streaming issues? Report here
702 logo Gradients 702 logo Gradients
Best of 702
00:00 - 06:00
volume_up
volume_mute

Up Next: Weekend Breakfast with Refiloe Mpakanyane
See full line-up
Best of 702
00:00 - 06:00
Home
arrow_forward
Local
fiber_manual_record
Opinion

Opinion: In Defence of Mr Paul Edey

29 July 2017 12:17 PM
Tags:
Irvin Lehloo
Mr. Paul Edey
St. Johns

Irvine Lehloo says he feels duty-bound to express the truth about Mr. Edey and the tremendous influence he has had upon his life.

Dear 702,

In light of the terrible news coming out of St John's, and the way in which Mr Edey has been portrayed by some of your talk show hosts, I feel duty-bound to express the truth about him, and about the tremendous influence he has had upon my life.

As a young, poor, indigenous child who had gained his way into St David's Marist College with an academic scholarship, high school proved to be a continual reminder of my own economic deficiencies and my cultural divergences from the mainstream elite at the time. I was one of 2 black students in a class of 100, and I had no shield to protect me from teenage deprecation.

High school was in short a terror - and I am ashamed to confess that I decided early on to try my hand at joining the terrors, so that I could gain a measure of infamy, and in so doing, deflect some attention away from my poor self.

The opportunity to cause insult to my overweight accounting teacher arose when we were asked to compile a business plan early in Standard 6 (Grade 8). Armed with Herbalife brochures, and a wicked way with words, I set off with mischievous glee. I was only trying to be funny, I convinced myself. The sorry truth which I hid all too well from myself, was that my presentation was shameful, sexist, and ignobly pejorative about women with weight challenges. It was the lowest point of my scholastic career. Of course, I got cackles and sniggers from the rest of the class. Of course, my poor teacher was humiliated. And of course, I got into (perhaps) the worst trouble of my life.

When I went to Mr Edey's office, an unspoken part of me feared the worst. Was I going to get suspended? Or expelled? What were my parents going to say? And as Mr Edey spelled out for me the gravity of my ill conduct, my self-worth lost all lustre and value. Then just at the point when I was sure that Mr Edey would take severe punitive action, a remarkable thing happened.

"Irvine," he said. "Do you know what 'Confortare Esto Vir' means?" "No," I whispered. "'Confortare Esto Vir' is the school motto. It means 'Take Courage and Be a Man'. Now I could punish you severely for your actions, but one thing I have learned is that punishment on it's own will not teach you anything. And I believe that at St David's, you have a great opportunity to learn, if you are willing to accept the lessons we teach." "Yes, Sir" I said, my morose eyes firmly fixed to the ground. "So Irvine, how would you take courage and be a man now?" Silence stretched out interminably whilst I groped for a suitable response. "Irvine?" "I uh, I suppose I should redo my accounting assignment." I dared a glance at Mr Edey, hoping that this would suffice. His stern glare did not waver one bit. "You need to do more." Inwardly, I plumbed the depths of desperation, whilst sweat burst into a frenzied sheen on my forehead. "I must say sorry to Mrs -?" "In writing," affirmed Mr Edey. "Today, you will write the letter right after detention. And you will redo your assignment tonight. Am I clear?" "Yessir! Sorry, sir!" Relief bloomed in my mind like fireworks in the night sky. Mr Edey nodded his dismissal, and I scurried towards the door on tremulous limbs. As I reached the door, Mr Edey called out "Irvine?" I turned and his sharp eyes caught mine firmly. "'Confortare Esto Vir'. Never forget these words, and what they mean."

I never forgot. Neither did Mr Edey.

In this Teacher/Student incident of prejudice, I believe that Mr Edey has tried to offer the teacher the same opportunity of redemption that I was offered. Because he is right: punitive action on its own will not teach the offender anything. Rather, it risks reinforcing the prejudices that have led the teacher to such offensive behaviour.

The castigation and exile being promulgated by some of your radio hosts is not the solution. In saying this, I am not making light of what has happened at St John's. The teacher's statements and actions are terrible in the extreme. But everyone deserves the opportunity to make amends. And how will this teacher do this if you destroy his life before he has a chance to change it?

Mr Edey is not leading poorly. He is not being soft-handed. He is not making light of racism. He is trying to change a terror, into something far better. For his bravery, and his conviction, Mr Edey deserves recognition and respect, however the St John's incident is resolved.

And for the compassion he showed me, even as he corrected my erroneous judgement, Mr Edey has won my love and my eternal support. Because he is a far better, far wiser man, than some of your poor pithy denouncements have made him out to be.

Yours Sincerely

Irvine Lehloo


29 July 2017 12:17 PM
Tags:
Irvin Lehloo
Mr. Paul Edey
St. Johns

Recommended

More from Local

Alex COVID-19 testing

UPDATE: Gauteng recoveries reach 29,038

11 July 2020 11:04 PM

The number of national recoveries so far is 127,715. The total number of tests conducted to date is 2.108,570.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Light bulb against dark background, electricity, load shedding. Image: Pexels.

Eskom: Load shedding to resume on Sunday

11 July 2020 6:37 PM

The state-owned power utility said stage 2 load shedding will resume at 8 am on Sunday until 10 pm.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

200711zuurbekomgif

Police now able to probe fatal hostage scene at Zuurbekom church

11 July 2020 4:30 PM

This after a crowd of congregants were ordered to disperse.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

drugsjpg

PE man (35) arrested for possession of mandrax tablets worth over R750k

11 July 2020 4:18 PM

An intelligence-driven operation conducted this week, led police to a house in Phuku Street.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

200227-david-maynier-edjpg

MEC Maynier criticises Presidency for ‘flip-flopping’ on tourism industry rules

11 July 2020 3:40 PM

In a tweet late on Friday night, the Presidency confirmed accommodation for leisure is open for travel within provinces was allowed.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Restaurant with spaced table for Covid-19 social distancing

Load shedding yet another blow for struggling SA businesses

11 July 2020 2:19 PM

Eskom is implementing stage two load shedding for a second day, while technicians work to bring generating units back online.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

200711weaponsgif

Gauteng hostage situation: Church members released, more arrests

11 July 2020 2:00 PM

It’s alleged ongoing conflict to succeed the leader of the church in Zuurbekom turned bloody when congregates allegedly attacked people who were inside, indicating that they were coming to take over the premises.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Covid-19 coronavirus testing 123rf

[LISTEN] Three senior Gauteng education department officials die of COVID-19

10 July 2020 5:22 PM

Gauteng Education MEC Panyaza Lesufi shared an update on the impact of the outbreak on his department on Friday.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

aka-chats-about-music-personal-growth-and-lockdown-with-zwelipng

'Stay safe' warns AKA as he reveals he has coronavirus

10 July 2020 3:46 PM

The rapper urged South Africans to adhere to social distancing guidelines and to wear their masks.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

bandilejpg

My parents have recovered from COVID-19 - Brent Lindeque spreads the GOOD NEWS!

10 July 2020 2:07 PM

Good Things Guy founder Brent Lindeque says people tend not to focus on the number of COVID-19 recoveries that keeps going up.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

More from Opinion

180831-old-mutual-edjpg

Old Mutual's hackneyed new TV ad looks like Allan Gray in green – Andy Rice

7 July 2020 7:38 PM

Ouch! The Money Show's Bruce Whitfield asks Andy Rice why he gives Old Mutual’s new television commercial a “zero”.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Clover blue man

Clover’s trippy blue bottle ad campaign – so bad (and bizarre) it’s good

7 July 2020 7:30 PM

People will be talking about it ‘till they’re blue in the face. The Money Show's Bruce Whitfield interviews ad expert Andy Rice.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Covid-19 insurance 123rf 123rfbusiness 123rflifestyle 123rfpersonalfinance

Shareholder activists grill Santam about 'business interruption insurance'

7 July 2020 6:47 PM

The lockdown did it – not the pandemic – so we can’t pay, argues Santam. Bruce Whitfield interviews Tracey Davies of Just Share.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Aisha Pandor SweepSouth Alen Ribic

Job won’t make you rich. You must earn in your sleep - Aisha Pandor, SweepSouth

6 July 2020 8:39 PM

Bruce Whitfield talks to SweepSouth cofounder Aisha Pandor about her attitude to money (hopes and fears, successes and failures).

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Frog in a pot

Are we boiling frogs? And why do SUV drivers look so confused, asks Tom Eaton

6 July 2020 8:18 PM

The Money Show’s Bruce Whitfield interviews columnist Tom Eaton about his new book, "Is it me, or is it getting hot in here?"

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

200406-lockdowngif

101 days of lockdown: What we gained (and lost), and what we have learned

6 July 2020 8:07 PM

The Money Show’s Bruce Whitfield interviews Kevin Lings, Chief Economist at Stanlib Asset Management.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

2001618-vbs-matodzi-edjpg

No theft at VBS. It’s politics and racism – alleged kingpin Tshifhiwa Matodzi

6 July 2020 6:22 PM

Bruce Whitfield talks to amaBhungane investigative journalist Dewald van Rensburg, who extensively interviewed Matodzi.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Marmite 123rf 123rfbusiness 123rflifestyle

Axe (aka 'Lynx') deodorant has a new scent - 'Africa and Marmite' (not kidding)

30 June 2020 7:25 PM

"We’ve decided to step it up," says Lynx. "With Lynx Marmite, we’re bringing the world of food into the fragrance category." LOL!

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Sock with a hole and toe sticking out recession economy 123rf 123rfbusiness

It feels like this economy's in a death spiral - Bruce Whitfield, The Money Show

30 June 2020 6:29 PM

South Africa’s economy shrank by 2% in Q1/2020, its third consecutive contraction. Bruce Whitfield interviews Prof Adrian Saville.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Eon de Vos

What in the world happened to Eon de Vos? And what does he believe about money?

29 June 2020 8:30 PM

Bruce Whitfield interviews Eon de Vos about his attitude to money (hopes and fears, successes and failures, etc.).

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward