Streaming issues? Report here
190703refiloe013jpg 190703refiloe013jpg
Weekend Breakfast with Refiloe Mpakanyane
06:00 - 10:00
volume_up
volume_mute

Up Next: Soulful Sundays with Kenny Maistry
See full line-up
Weekend Breakfast with Refiloe Mpakanyane
06:00 - 10:00
Home
arrow_forward
Business
fiber_manual_record
Lifestyle
fiber_manual_record
Entertainment

Sylvester Chauke Opinion: The miseducation of Twitter-ville

23 August 2017 4:50 PM
Tags:
Twitter

Award-winning entrepreneur and brand architect Sylvester Chauke says not every tweet is actually worthy of our energy.

Sylvester Chauke is an award-winning entrepreneur and cascader of the Stand Against Bland movement in marketing amongst other fun things. He is founder and Chief Architect of DNA Brand Architects, sits on the Advisory council for WEF Global Shapers and is a Board Member of the South African State Theatre.

There I was, frantically scrawling down my timeline getting a sense of what’s happening in the world… or should I say, in the world of people I follow on Twitter.

I love the snappy consumption of news, as it allows me to absorb a lot of detail in a very short period of time. Let’s be honest, with soooo many distributed conversations happening on every corner of the network, you need be selective as to who you listen to and where you focus your attention.

I really appreciate the shortcut version of absorbing my news. If I had to read every newspaper article, I would probably need to spend 4 hours of the day tucked away feeding myself with what the curators of news agents and people that I follow deem as news for the day – so Twitter keeps me up to date in byte sizes and I quite like that.

But this is where the problem is… you see, not everything that is trending deserves to, nor is it interesting for me. The idea that what is trending is what the entire nation is thinking is far from the truth. Twitter is not always the sentiment of the country at large… it is the sentiment perhaps, of the 300 or 3000 people that you follow or the result of the algorithm that pointed out at a time of your tweet, you managed to drive engagement.

Like Rosallia would say… “and then what?.... That’s where experience comes in handy. You have to know what to take and what to discard because if not, you stand a chance of spending a lot of time mis-educating yourself… because truth is…. a lot of the conversations are just attention seekers that are not based on any fact whatsoever.

How can we forget that MiWay saga with a false racist e-mail? Remember how we were all up in arms about it, many people cancelled their policies, many people called the call centre in extreme levels of anger. We were all in it and we ploughed lots of energy on a non-story! Then we were left feeling like fools afterwards when it turned out that the mail has a swindle. Not cool, right?!!

Far too often I get contacted by companies and brands that are frantic about a negative mention on a tweet. They are sometimes even prepared to change direction on their strategy based on 2 or 3 tweets. I adore marketers who are nimble – they make the world of brand building fun – however, I have to remind them that in every single project, you WILL have a selection of consumers who will not like what you do – AND THAT IS OKAY! You do however need to ensure that MOST people are liking your work - but we should not be shaken that some people do not like it, especially those that are not the targeted audience!!

So as we consume news and entertainment, let’s remember that not every tweet is actually worthy of our energy. I am advocating for and ask that we are cautious before we jump into ploughing energy on empty tweets! Remember dear Marketer, your twitter feed is not a representation of the entire Republic of South Africa and not everyone is going to lurve what you do – and it’s okay! Happy scrawling BUT be careful!


23 August 2017 4:50 PM
Tags:
Twitter

Recommended

More from Business

Restaurant with spaced table for Covid-19 social distancing

Load shedding yet another blow for struggling SA businesses

11 July 2020 2:19 PM

Eskom is implementing stage two load shedding for a second day, while technicians work to bring generating units back online.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Darkness, no electricity, load shedding

Loadshedding to be implemented from Friday - Eskom COO

10 July 2020 11:03 AM

More generating units have broken down, resulting in the utility battling to meet the high demand for electricity.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

wifi-internet-data-broadband-cell-phone-mobile-device-network-providers-123rf

Small Business Focus: How to get your marketing right in a shrinking media world

9 July 2020 8:38 PM

Pavlo Phitidis says focus must be on the customer group you are trying to reach. You've got to get your demographics right.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

broken-heart-broke-money-coins-finances-love-relationship-divorce-break-up-123rf

Personal Finance Feature: Julia - The super saver

9 July 2020 8:02 PM

Though leaving corporate to venture into tourism has been a big test of resilience, she is still happy with her decision.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

180710sactwu-strikejpg

SA is becoming a country of old people. Median age has risen from 23 to 27

9 July 2020 7:30 PM

Lumkile Mondi says skills and knowledge that have driven a lot of the growth in the past are going to be undermined.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

190430-joburg-soca-edjpg

City of Joburg tables R68.1bn budget for 2020/2021

9 July 2020 5:25 PM

This follows several delays which saw the Gauteng government throw the book at the city’s council threatening to place it under administration.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Woman saving money piggy bank mask 123rf 123rfbusiness 123rflifestyle

Supersaver Julia has changed lives, and she can change yours! – Bruce Whitfield

9 July 2020 3:00 PM

Need the inspiration to save? The Money Show’s Bruce Whitfield interviews “Supersaver Julia” at around 7:15 pm tonight.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

200106-daniel-mminele-edjpg

Daniel Mminele on his shapeshifting career

8 July 2020 8:43 PM

Absa CEO Daniel Mminele says they had to transition very quickly within a very space of time into operating in a new normal.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

171227prieska-arrestjpg

Payment methods ... the good, the bad and the ugly

8 July 2020 8:14 PM

Wendy Knowler says it is expensive to issue or bank a cheque. For example, to deposit a cheque can cost well over R100.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

123rf A pile of two hundred rand notes, South African currency money

For the first time in SA there is a specific law on how banks treat customers

8 July 2020 7:42 PM

Caroline Da Silva of the FSCA says they will look into patterns of complaints to see how to change a bank's behaviour.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

More from Lifestyle

siv-ngesijpg

Siv Ngesi: I made a conscious decision that I will never move to Joburg

10 July 2020 5:17 PM

Talented actor, dancer, comedian and activist Siv Ngesi says where there is uncomfortability that is where the growth is happening.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

aka-chats-about-music-personal-growth-and-lockdown-with-zwelipng

'Stay safe' warns AKA as he reveals he has coronavirus

10 July 2020 3:46 PM

The rapper urged South Africans to adhere to social distancing guidelines and to wear their masks.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

mary-twalajpg

WATCH LIVE: Funeral service for veteran actress Mary Twala

9 July 2020 8:29 AM

The 80-year-old passed away over the weekend at Park Lane hospital in Johannesburg.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

magazinejpg

#Magazines: 'There are definite losses and gains in the move to digital'

8 July 2020 12:05 PM

Clement Manyathela speaks to experts about the evolution of the magazine industry.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Covid-19 insurance 123rf 123rfbusiness 123rflifestyle 123rfpersonalfinance

Shareholder activists grill Santam about 'business interruption insurance'

7 July 2020 6:47 PM

The lockdown did it – not the pandemic – so we can’t pay, argues Santam. Bruce Whitfield interviews Tracey Davies of Just Share.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

191111capetown2jpg

Authorised Siya Kolisi biography coming in 2021

7 July 2020 2:52 PM

The book does not yet have a title but will be published next year, ahead of the forthcoming Lions tour to South Africa in 2021.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Aisha Pandor SweepSouth Alen Ribic

Job won’t make you rich. You must earn in your sleep - Aisha Pandor, SweepSouth

6 July 2020 8:39 PM

Bruce Whitfield talks to SweepSouth cofounder Aisha Pandor about her attitude to money (hopes and fears, successes and failures).

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Frog in a pot

Are we boiling frogs? And why do SUV drivers look so confused, asks Tom Eaton

6 July 2020 8:18 PM

The Money Show’s Bruce Whitfield interviews columnist Tom Eaton about his new book, "Is it me, or is it getting hot in here?"

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

pitika-ntuli-exhibitionjpg

[LISTEN] Professor Pitika Ntuli on the inspiration behind his latest exhibition

6 July 2020 4:05 PM

The exhibition comprises of 45 pieces sculpted from bone.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

covid-19 coronavirus South Africa lockdown 123rf

[LISTEN] The psychology behind breaking lockdown regulations

6 July 2020 12:34 PM

Clement Manyathela speaks to clinical psychologist Ruth Ancer about the reasons why some people may be refusing to social distance

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

More from Entertainment

tim-jenkin-and-danieljpg

[LISTEN] Former anti-apartheid activist Tim Jenkin shares his prison-break story

10 July 2020 5:51 PM

The 2020 thriller film 'Escape from Pretoria' is available on DVD and Blu-ray.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

mi-casa-2jpg

[WATCH] Mi Casa perform music from their latest album

10 July 2020 4:54 PM

Their fifth album, We Made It, was released last week.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

screen-shot-2020-07-10-at-84829-ampng

[WATCH] 4-year-old sharing her frustrations about COVID-19 lockdown goes viral

10 July 2020 8:52 AM

Khabazela shares some of the videos that went viral on Twitter and Facebook.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

simba-delivery-truck-gale-forcepng

[WATCH] WC strong winds causes Simba truck to fall on its side

10 July 2020 8:51 AM

Khabazela shares some of the videos that went viral on Twitter and Facebook.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

screen-shot-2020-07-09-at-82421-ampng

[WATCH] Man catches 3-year-old boy thrown from burning building

9 July 2020 8:57 AM

Khabazela shares some of the videos that went viral on Twitter and Facebook.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

screen-shot-2020-07-09-at-85351-ampng

[WATCH] Heroic woman helps blind man board the bus in busy streets of India

9 July 2020 8:56 AM

Khabazela shares some of the videos that went viral on Twitter and Facebook.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

screen-shot-2020-07-08-at-83705-ampng

[WATCH] Woman can't release bird that flew into car landing on baby's car seat

8 July 2020 8:44 AM

Khabazela shares some of the videos that went viral on Twitter and Facebook.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

screen-shot-2020-07-08-at-82803-ampng

[WATCH] Brothers from 'Charlie bit my finger fame' recreate video 13 years later

8 July 2020 8:43 AM

Khabazela shares some of the videos that went viral on Twitter and Facebook.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

screen-shot-2020-07-07-at-82317-ampng

Sad story: Dog found abandoned with note saying he didn't learn to be good

7 July 2020 8:30 AM

Khabazela shares some of the videos that went viral on Twitter and Facebook.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

screen-shot-2020-07-07-at-81317-ampng

[WATCH] Comedian Fahim Anwar shares funny stages of COVID-19 lockdown

7 July 2020 8:29 AM

Khabazela shares some of the videos that went viral on Twitter and Facebook.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward