Streaming issues? Report here
Joanne Joseph 702 Gradients Joanne Joseph 702 Gradients
Afternoon Drive with Joanne Joseph
15:00 - 18:00
volume_up
volume_mute

Up Next: The Money Show with Bruce Whitfield
See full line-up
Afternoon Drive with Joanne Joseph
15:00 - 18:00
Home
arrow_forward
Business
fiber_manual_record
Lifestyle

Sylvester Chauke Opinion: Don't waste a good crisis, Dove

9 October 2017 12:21 PM
Tags:
Racism
Sylvester Chauke
Dove
Dove racism

The brand strategist says let's use the advert's controversial racial depiction to learn lessons and stop repeating history.

Oh look, we are back again - a controversy around racial depiction in advertising!!

We know that the quarter moisturizing cream makes your skin look radiant and absolutely gorgeous. We also know that Dove believes that women should never have to conform to the norms of what beauty is. Then why did they get it wrong, again?

Winston Churchill ones said, "Never let a good crisis go to waste", I thought perhaps there is an opportunity to learn from this.

First, we must not pretend that this is the first time that an ad creates an uproar over race. My column ‘When race stands in the way of great ideas’ here tackled that issue a few months back. Why are we here again?

There is a systematic issue with how brands look at consumers that needs a double-click - the main problem being the lack of diversity in forums that approve such work. Surely, somewhere in the value chain from concept to execution, there should be a team of people of colour who could quite easily have raised this issue?

Or perhaps there was a stubborn and power-hungry marketing executive who completely out-ruled the “junior black staff” or perhaps, not even one single person picked this up - it was just one of those unfortunate mistakes….

Be that as it may, there is an insensitivity with how black people are depicted in ads, and that starts in the boardroom. There is an archaic way of looking at consumers based on old thinking and old standards and this Dove saga remind us that the world has changed. Brands cannot just tell consumers what to be and how to be - they need to be in tune with the people!

As a marketing practitioner, this is really exciting. It means that our work can be liberated from the shackles of stereotypes and old thinking and I completely support that.

What’s rather sad however is that after all the hype is gone, we will get back to the usual because generally, these brands are incredibly strong to withstand the biggest storms once they unleash their PR machine to clean up the mess.

This is a good crisis to learn from. Let’s relook at the make-up of our brand teams. Let’s sharpen our diversity of people and thinking, and may we forge to work with teams who are free to express the truth even if it is not popular.

Let’s ask questions and let’s be cognisant of the messages we are creating as brands. May you have a glowing day!

_Sylvester Chauke is an award-winning entrepreneur and cascader of the Stand Against Bland movement in marketing amongst other fun things. He is the founder and Chief Architect of DNA Brand Architects, sits on the Advisory Council for WEF Global Shapers and is a Board Member of the South African State Theat_re.


9 October 2017 12:21 PM
Tags:
Racism
Sylvester Chauke
Dove
Dove racism

Recommended

More from Business

ramaphosa-imbizojpg

Liquor trade council writes to Ramaphosa to ensure sale of liquor continues

12 July 2020 5:13 PM

Concerns have been raised over the impact of booze on trauma admissions since the ban on sales was lifted in June.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Restaurant with spaced table for Covid-19 social distancing

Load shedding yet another blow for struggling SA businesses

11 July 2020 2:19 PM

Eskom is implementing stage two load shedding for a second day, while technicians work to bring generating units back online.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Darkness, no electricity, load shedding

Loadshedding to be implemented from Friday - Eskom COO

10 July 2020 11:03 AM

More generating units have broken down, resulting in the utility battling to meet the high demand for electricity.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

wifi-internet-data-broadband-cell-phone-mobile-device-network-providers-123rf

Small Business Focus: How to get your marketing right in a shrinking media world

9 July 2020 8:38 PM

Pavlo Phitidis says focus must be on the customer group you are trying to reach. You've got to get your demographics right.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

broken-heart-broke-money-coins-finances-love-relationship-divorce-break-up-123rf

Personal Finance Feature: Julia - The super saver

9 July 2020 8:02 PM

Though leaving corporate to venture into tourism has been a big test of resilience, she is still happy with her decision.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

180710sactwu-strikejpg

SA is becoming a country of old people. Median age has risen from 23 to 27

9 July 2020 7:30 PM

Lumkile Mondi says skills and knowledge that have driven a lot of the growth in the past are going to be undermined.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

190430-joburg-soca-edjpg

City of Joburg tables R68.1bn budget for 2020/2021

9 July 2020 5:25 PM

This follows several delays which saw the Gauteng government throw the book at the city’s council threatening to place it under administration.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Woman saving money piggy bank mask 123rf 123rfbusiness 123rflifestyle

Supersaver Julia has changed lives, and she can change yours! – Bruce Whitfield

9 July 2020 3:00 PM

Need the inspiration to save? The Money Show’s Bruce Whitfield interviews “Supersaver Julia” at around 7:15 pm tonight.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

200106-daniel-mminele-edjpg

Daniel Mminele on his shapeshifting career

8 July 2020 8:43 PM

Absa CEO Daniel Mminele says they had to transition very quickly within a very space of time into operating in a new normal.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

171227prieska-arrestjpg

Payment methods ... the good, the bad and the ugly

8 July 2020 8:14 PM

Wendy Knowler says it is expensive to issue or bank a cheque. For example, to deposit a cheque can cost well over R100.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

More from Lifestyle

Covid-19 coronavirus toilet paper 123rf 123rfworld 123rfbusiness australia

'Parents should stay close to the pulse of what teenagers are going through'

12 July 2020 11:25 AM

Clinical psychologist Khosi Jiyane says it is important to engage them and get to know how they are feeling because of COVID-19.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

siv-ngesijpg

Siv Ngesi: I made a conscious decision that I will never move to Joburg

10 July 2020 5:17 PM

Talented actor, dancer, comedian and activist Siv Ngesi says where there is uncomfortability that is where the growth is happening.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

aka-chats-about-music-personal-growth-and-lockdown-with-zwelipng

'Stay safe' warns AKA as he reveals he has coronavirus

10 July 2020 3:46 PM

The rapper urged South Africans to adhere to social distancing guidelines and to wear their masks.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

mary-twalajpg

WATCH LIVE: Funeral service for veteran actress Mary Twala

9 July 2020 8:29 AM

The 80-year-old passed away over the weekend at Park Lane hospital in Johannesburg.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

magazinejpg

#Magazines: 'There are definite losses and gains in the move to digital'

8 July 2020 12:05 PM

Clement Manyathela speaks to experts about the evolution of the magazine industry.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Covid-19 insurance 123rf 123rfbusiness 123rflifestyle 123rfpersonalfinance

Shareholder activists grill Santam about 'business interruption insurance'

7 July 2020 6:47 PM

The lockdown did it – not the pandemic – so we can’t pay, argues Santam. Bruce Whitfield interviews Tracey Davies of Just Share.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

191111capetown2jpg

Authorised Siya Kolisi biography coming in 2021

7 July 2020 2:52 PM

The book does not yet have a title but will be published next year, ahead of the forthcoming Lions tour to South Africa in 2021.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Aisha Pandor SweepSouth Alen Ribic

Job won’t make you rich. You must earn in your sleep - Aisha Pandor, SweepSouth

6 July 2020 8:39 PM

Bruce Whitfield talks to SweepSouth cofounder Aisha Pandor about her attitude to money (hopes and fears, successes and failures).

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

Frog in a pot

Are we boiling frogs? And why do SUV drivers look so confused, asks Tom Eaton

6 July 2020 8:18 PM

The Money Show’s Bruce Whitfield interviews columnist Tom Eaton about his new book, "Is it me, or is it getting hot in here?"

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward

pitika-ntuli-exhibitionjpg

[LISTEN] Professor Pitika Ntuli on the inspiration behind his latest exhibition

6 July 2020 4:05 PM

The exhibition comprises of 45 pieces sculpted from bone.

Share this:
Read More arrow_forward